Bumrah's love for Wickets in Noball

|
Bumrah's love for Wickets in Noball

In the ongoing 4th test between India and England, Bumrah once again repeated this feat as Joe Root was lucky to get plumb in front of wickets against Bumrah in a noball. The on field umpire didn't gave it out as Bumrah asked his skipper Virat Kohli to review the decision. The decision came in favor of Root as because Bumrah once again stepped over the bowling crease giving Root a life.

But this is not the first instance when Bumrah stepped over to take a wicket. Taking wicket in noball has always been a trademark of India's death overs specialist, Jasprit Bumrah.

Lets recall some of the other major instances when Bumrah did the same as he did this time around.

Fakhar Zaman : The lucky man in 2017 Champions Trophy Final



This might be the biggest noball of Bumrah's career in terms of the impact it had on the game. India were one step back of winning the Champions Trophy in 2017 as the two arch rivals India and Pakistan met each other in the finals of 2017 Champions Trophy.

Pakistan were batting first in the finals. Fakhar Zaman nicked one to the keeper off Bumrah's bowling when he was batting on 3. Replays showed that Bumrah had overstepped the bowling crease hence giving Fakhar a chance to start his show. Fakhar went on to score a match winning century guiding Pakistan to victory in the finals against India.

Upul Tharanga : India vs Sri Lanka at Dharamsala (2017)



It was the first ODI of the tour that was being played at Dharmasala. India were bowled out for mere 112 runs. Seamers friendly conditions at Dharmasala meant that Indian seamers had to produce something extra ordinary to get back into the match.

Bumrah got Upul Tharanga caught at slips by Dinesh Karthik but only to find himself overstepping the bowling crease once again. The no-ball came at a crucial juncture as the Indian pacerswere getting on top of the Lankan batsmen.Srilanka comprehensively won the match as Tharanga scored 49 to take his team to victory.

Adil Rashid - India vs England, 3rd Test, Trent Bridge (2018)



This incident took place in the third test of the ongoing series at Trent Bridge. After a couple of instances in limited overs cricket, it was now turn of test cricket to experience one from our very own Bumrah.

Bumrah got the wickets of Jos Buttler, Jonny Bairstow and Lord's Test centurion Chris Woakes as he had the chance to guide his team to ictory on the fourth day. Adil Rashid nicked one from Bumrah straight to Virat Kohli at second slips. The celebration started with high fives all around. But wait Bumrah had overstepped once again and which was confirmed by the umpires.

Joe Root - India vs England, 4th Test, Southampton (2018)



The very next match, fourth test of the ongoing series at Southampton saw one more instance of Bumrah picking up wicket in a noball. This time around, Joe Root was the lucky one.

Bumrah took the wicket of Keyton Jennings in his second over as Indian seamers were all over English batsmen in the start of the play. Bumrah had Root plumb in front of wickets off the third ball of his third over. The umpire didn't give out as Bumrah asked his skipper Virat Kohli for a review pretty confidently. The replay showed that this bowler from Gujarat had once again over stepped hence giving a life to Root.

LetzCricket Team

LetzCricket is a sports news website focused on the Nepal's domestic cricket as well as international cricket matches.