Bangladesh announce squad for Asia Cup

Bangladesh announce squad for Asia Cup

Bangladesh has announced a 16 member squad for the upcoming Asia Cup that is going to be played in UAE. Mashrafe Mortaza will be leading the side while allrounder Shakib Al Hasan will act as vice captain of the team.

Anamul Haque and Sabbir Rahman have made way for Mohammad Mithun and Ariful Haque. Both Haque and Rahman were part of the squad against West Indies earlier this year, along with Abu Jayed, who was also not included.

Shakib had earlier indicated that he would be eyeing surgery before the tournament in UAE, but was named in the 31-member preliminary squad. As quoted by Cricbuzz, board president Nazmul said that Shakib, who flew to the US after returning from Hajj, is likely to have the operation after the Asia Cup.

Bangladesh are placed along side Srilanka and Afghanistan in Group B. Bangladesh will face Srilanka in the first match on 15th September at Dubai.

Bangladesh Squad for Asia Cup

Mashrafe Mortaza (captain)
Shakib Al Hasan (vice-captain)
Tamim Iqbal
Mohammad Mithun
Litton Kumar Das
Mushfiqur Rahim
Ariful Haque
Mosaddek Hossain Saikat
Nazmul Hossain Shanto
Mehidy Hasan Miraz
Nazmul Islam Apu
Rubel Hossain
Mustafizur Rahman
Abu Haider Rony

You may also read :15 member squad for Asia Cup Qualifier : Sagar and Binod make comeback