Chennai beat Bangalore in IPL opener by 7 wickets

Chennai beat Bangalore in IPL opener by 7 wickets

Defending champions Chennai Super Kings defeated Royal Challengers Bangalore by 7 wickets in the first match of 12th edition of Indian Premier League (IPL) at Chennai.

Having won the toss and elected to field first, Chennai was brilliant with the ball. Harbhajan Singh shared the new ball with Deepak Chahar. Harbhajan finished with the figures of 3-20 from his four overa which included wickets of Virat Kohli, Moeen Ali and AB De Villiers.

Imran Tahir gave away just 9 runs from his 4 overs picking up 3 wickets. Ravindra Jadeja also picked up 2 wickets. Chennai in reply got to the target in 17.4 overs at the loss of 3 wickets. Ambati Rayudu was the top scorer for CSK with 28 runs while Raina made 19 runs.

Yuzvendra Chahal, Moeen Ali and Mohammed Siraj shared a wicket each for Bangalore.

Match Summary

Chennai Super Kings 71 for 3 (Rayudu 28, Chahal 1-6)

beat Royal Challengers Bangalore 70 (Parthiv 29, Tahir 3-9, Harbhajan 3-20)

by 7 wickets