Dhawan stars as Delhi beat Kolkata by 7 wickets

Dhawan stars as Delhi beat Kolkata by 7 wickets

See Full Scorecard

Delhi Capitals beat Kolkata Knight Riders by 7 wickets on Friday at Eden Gardens, Kolkata. Delhi chased down a target of 179 runs in 18.5 overs with 7 wickets remaining.

Shikhar Dhawan was the star with the bat for Delhi as he remained unbeaten on 97 from 63 balls. Rishabh Pant chipped in with a 31 ball 46. Nitish Rana, Prasidh Krishna and Andre Russell shared a wicket each for Kolkata.

Earlier, Kolkata finished on 178/7 from 20 overs. A new opening pair of Shubman Gill and Joe Denly started the innings for KKR. Denly was bowled by Ishant Sharma in the very first ball of the innings. Shubman Gill top scored for KKR with 65 runs from 39 balls which included 7 fours and 2 sixes. Andre Russell continued his splendid form with the bat as he smashed 45 runs off just 21 balls with 3 fours and 4 sixes.

Keemo Paul, Kagiso Rabada and Chris Morris shared 2 wickets each for Delhi while Ishant picked up a wicket.

Match Summary :
Delhi Capitals 180 for 3 (Dhawan 97*, Pant 46)
Kolkata Knight Riders 178 for 7 (Gill 65, Russell 45, Morris 2-38, Rabada 2-42)
by 7 wickets