Rabada, Prithvi help Delhi beat Kolkata in Super Over

Rabada, Prithvi help Delhi beat Kolkata in Super Over

Delhi Capitals came out victorious against Kolkata Knight Riders at Delhi in a super over. Chasing a target of 186 runs to win, Delhi finished on 185/6 from 20 overs as the match went to super over.

Rishabh Pant and Shreyas Iyer started the innings for Delhi in super over as Prasidh Krishna bowled the over. Pant took a single off the first ball while Shreyas scored a four in the second. Prasidh got the wicket of Iyer in the third ball. Pant scored a couple of 2 runs and then a single off the last ball took Delhi to 10/1 in their super over.

Kolkata started well as Russell hit Rabada for a four in the very first ball. Russell was out in the third ball after he played a dot ball in the second. Robin Uthappa and Dinesh Karthik scored singles in remaining balls ending Kolkata's super over on 7/1.

Earlier, Kolkata posted 185/8 from their allotted 20 overs. Once struggling at 61/5, Kolkata came back with a 95 run stand between skipper Dinesh Karthik and Andre Russell. Russel continued his good form with the bat as he smashed 62 runs off 28 balls with 4 fours and 6 sixes. Karthik made a 36 ball 50 before being caught by Pant off Amit Mishra. Harshal Patel picked up 2 wickets for Delhi while Rabada, Sandeep Lamichhane, Amit Mishra and Chris Morris shared a wicket each.

Young Prithvi Shaw was the star with the bat in Delhi's chase. Shaw missed out on a well deserved century as he was out for 99 in the penultimate over of the innings. Pant scored 99 runs off 55 balls which included 12 fours and 3 sixes. Skipper Shreyas Iyer contributed 43 runs with 4 fours and 2 sixes. Kuldeep Yadav was the pick of the bowlers for KKR as he finished with the figuresof 2/41. Piyush Chawala, Andre Russell and Lockie Ferguson shared a wicket each.

Prithvi Shaw was named Man of the Match for his brilliant 99 while chasing.

Match Summary :
Delhi Capitals 185 for 6 (Shaw 99, Iyer 43)
Kolkata Knight Riders 185 for 8 (Russell 62, Karthik 50)
via the Super Over
Super Over :
Delhi Capitals 10 for 1 (Pant 6*, Iyer 4, Prasidh 1-10)
Kolkata Knight Riders 7 for 1 (Russell 4, Uthappa 2*, Karthik 1*, Rabada 1-7)