Spinners stars as Mumbai march into finals for fifth time

Spinners stars as Mumbai march into finals for fifth time

Mumbai Indians yet again defeated Chennai Super Kings in first qualifier of VIVO Indian Premier League (IPL) to make it 3 in a row this season.

Mumbai beat Chennai by 6 wickets in a low scoring match at MA Chidambaram Stadium at Chennai to secure a place in the finals. Chennai on the other hand, will now face the winner of the Eliminator between Delhi Capitals and Sunrisers Hyderabad. This win is also the fourth consecutive win for three-time champions Mumbai against defending champions, Chennai.

Chennai won the toss and elected to bat first hoping to put on a big total on the board. Mumbai showed a brilliant performance with the ball as Chennai were struggling at 32/3 from 6 overs. MS Dhoni (37) and Ambati Rayudu (42) added unbeaten 66 runs for the fifth wicket to take the total to 131/4 from 20 overs.

Rahul Chahar was brilliant as he finished with the figures of 2-14 from his quota of 4 overs. Jayant Yadav and Krunal Pandya shared a wicket each for Mumbai.

Mumbai in reply lost their skipper Rohit Sharma in the second ball of the innings after Rohti scored a four off the first ball. Quinton de Kock was undone by Harbhajan Singh as he was caught by du Plesis. Suryakumar Yadav remained unbeaten on 71 runs as he added 80 runs along with Ishan Kishan for the third wicket. Ishan made 28 runs off 31 balls. Hardik Pandya remained unbeaten on 13 runs as Mumbai chased down the target without any further hiccups. Imran Tahir chipped in with 3 wickets while Deepak Chahar and Harbhajan Singh picked up a wicket each.

Match Summary :
Mumbai Indians 132 for 4 (Suryakumar 71*, Kishan 28, Tahir 2-33)
Chennai Super Kings 131 for 4 (Rayudu 42*, Dhoni 37*, Rahul Chahar 2-14)
by 6 wickets